Driving Under the Influence
Pennsylvania prohibits driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol or controlled substances.
An individual with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08% is considered a Driving Under the Influence. The threshold is lowered to .04% BAC for commercial drivers and .02% BAC for bus drivers and drivers under the age of 21.
Penalties for DUI
In Pennsylvania there are different penalties for DUI depending on your BAC and the number of times you have broken this serious law.
Drivers with a BAC of 08% but less than .10% can face jail time up to 2 years, up to $5,000 in fines and a 12-month license suspension.
Drivers with a BAC of at least .10% but less than .16% can face jail time up to 5 years, up to $10,000 in find and an 18-month license suspension.
It is also important to note that drivers under the influence of controlled substances and those who refuse breath or chemical testing are subject to the highest penalties.
Other penalties for a DUI conviction can include completion of Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD), installation of an Ignition Interlock system and alcohol rehab.
DUI laws in Pennsylvania are complex and require the knowledge of an experienced attorney. If you have been charged with a DUI, the right DUI lawyer can help you navigate the court system and allow you a chance for the best possible outcome.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a DUI, call our office today at (412) 391-6670 to schedule a free case review.